2017 Wagga Cup Field, Barriers & Odds

Wagga Cup

The 2017 Wagga Cup is a prestigious country horse racing event held in the Western New South Wales town of Wagga Wagga.

The 2017 Wagga Cup will be held on Friday, May 5th.Wagga Cup

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

Otherwise known as the Wagga Gold Cup or the Wagga Wagga Gold Cup, the historic event is believed to be the second oldest thoroughbred race in Australia.

Offering $150,000 in prize money the Listed Wagga Cup attracts the very best stayers from country New South Wales and Victoria as well as quality city horses who come to chase black-type success.

The best trainers in the country often have Wagga Cup entrants, with the likes of Gai Waterhouse, Gerald Ryan and Bart Cummings having had runners in recent years.

The Wagga Cup serves as a huge day for punters both on and off course, who study the form closely trying to back a Wagga Cup winner.

One of the difficulties encountered by Wagga Cup punters is the challenge of weighing up both country and city form from various tracks when choosing their winning selections.

Held as part of an eight-race card, the Wagga Cup attracts a bumper crowd each year, with locals flocking to the track for a fun-filled day of horse racing action.

Given it generally occurs during the week, punters around the country tune into the Wagga Cup as it always stands as the feature meeting of the day.


Wagga Cup entrants travel from far and wide to compete in the exciting staying test and as such each year the winners often come from varying backgrounds.

Interestingly, Canberra horses have had the most success in recent years, with both 2012 winner Coliseo and 2011 champion Voice Commander hailing from the nation’s capital.

List Of Recent Winners

Year Winner
2015 Landlocked
2014 Trade Commissioner
2013 Scream Machine
2012 Coliseo
2011 Voice Commander
2010 Sainthood
2009 Macknuckle
2008 Tommifrancs
2007 Fooram
2006 Mc Lir
2005 Natural Blitz
2004 Vanquished
2003 Kreisler Mirage
2002 Call Me Lily
2001 Regal Touch
2000 Sporting
1999 Goodwood
1998 Chance Affair
1997 Here’s The Prince
1996 Nobellotto
1995 Top Guy
1993 Antwerp
1992 Fleet Dancer
1991 Greenback
1990 Mill Court

Wagga Cup Betting

Just about all country cups tend to pull some betting action. However, Wagga Cup betting is in a league of its own. Possibly due to the wild inhabitants on Wagga, or the quality of the horses in the Cup, Wagga Cup betting gets pretty substantial attention every year.

Quite a few local punters head to the tracks and can’t be seen anywhere but the bookies ring for the fifteen minutes prior to the race. Others bet from home on their computers, while yet more are on their mobiles throwing on a last minute punt.

The Wagga Cup is a great race to have a bet on, and quite a few lucky punters have made the bar richer over the years. If you can’t get down to the tracks to bet on the Wagga Cup, you can always do it from home via an online bookie like Ladbrokes.com.au.

Wagga Cup News

Fifteen runners have been confirmed to line up for Friday‚Äôs featured 2016 Listed Wagga Cup (2000m); offering punters exceptional value from a betting standpoint and several key opportunities to place a winning wager. Messene remains clear and outright $3 favourite in 2016 Wagga Cup betting markets with leading online bookie…